Q: What are the penalties and driver's license revocation times for getting a DUI conviction in Illinois?
Conviction Jail Sentence Fine Driving Revocation Period
First conviction Up to one year $2,500 1-Year minimum
(Misdemeanor) 2-year minimum if under 21
Second conviction Up to one year $5,000 5-year minimum
Third conviction Possible 3-7 years $25,000 10-year minimum
Fourth conviction Possible 3-7 years $25,000 Lifetime
In addition to these penalties, a DUI conviction may result in the suspension of vehicle license plates, high insurance costs, mandatory alcohol evaluation and treatment, and court/attorney fees. Also, a DUI citation that is converted to a felony charge will only increase a defendant's penalties, fines, and costs.
To get more information after you or a family member has been charged with DUI/DWI or a traffic citation call the Giacoletto Law Firm at 618-346-8841 or toll free at 888-346-8841 to speak today with an experienced Madison or St. Clair County criminal attorney centrally located in Collinsville.
Source: Jesse White, Illinois Secretary of State